Cannas

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

myfedora

I didn't get to bring in my cannas over the winter (Ohio) because of my surgeries. They were in great big pots. Do you think they will be ok? They attracted so many humming birds last year! I just might have to grab some more from my mom.:D

R

RiverRock

I didnt know they atract hummingbirds! Oh I will have to think about that now, I have never tried cannas before. From what I understand they are pretty hardy though. Maybe it depends on what kind you have, I am not sure.

RR

Annette99

I have to bring my cannas in here or they freeze, even in the ground. I also get the hummers, my blooms are bright orange/red.

Mainegal

Super Moderator
Staff member
I have to bring mine inside in zone 5
I tried leaving a couple one winter and really mulched them but they didn't come back

sfishergirl

As far as I know cannas are a zone 8 and higher hardiness. I lost my lucifer that way (I didn't know it had to be dug up)

Dor

I am in zone 9 so I don't have to bring my cannas in. I didn't know they attract hummingbirds. I have them in pots and in the ground.

Crabbergirl

Super Moderator
Staff member
I knew someone else in Oh and she always dug hers in the winter. But I guess you will have to let us know if they come back or not. You might be very surprised

plantlover

I didn't get to bring in my cannas over the winter (Ohio) because of my surgeries. They were in great big pots. Do you think they will be ok? They attracted so many humming birds last year! I just might have to grab some more from my mom.:D