Sweet Basil - Black leaves

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

MikeIL

Hello all. See this picture?

Picture Link

What causes some of my basil leaves to turn black? Is that some kind of disease or just sunburn?

I bought the plant already started by a nursery. That picture was taken two days after I purchased the plant. It's doubled in size already. How can you tell is a leave is ready to be pulled and used in a recipe? This is my first year trying herbs beyond cilantro.

I'm afraid this basil plant is going to produce more than I can use, hehe. I think maybe I better google how to dry herbs :)

Kya D

Maybe too much water or like you said sunburn??? I am not at all sure.
I dehydrate lots of stuff including herbs. They are very easy to dry. You can tie the basil stems in bundles and hang them or put them in the dehydrator

Crabbergirl

Super Moderator
Staff member
You are right Kya both will cause this. There are 2 different black spots on your leaves. One is water and one is sun. The lighter brown/black spots are sun burn. Give your plant partial sun/shade . Usually the hottest part of the day you want your plant in filrtered light;)

Flower4Yeshua

Super Moderator & vegemm
Staff member
you have your answer on the black leaves....on the dring...you can pick leaves and lay them out in a dark warm spot to dry or cut long stem and hang to dry ...really rather easy...
also you could make a pesto up and can or freeze it.

MikeIL