need some helpful suggestions

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

errol

hello everyone, sure been a long winter here in middle tn!! 6 snows so far, but looking more like spring now!! Since I am rather new at flower gardening, thought some of you might have a few suggestions. I have a 10 ft long by 30 inch wide spot in front of a small building that I want to plant something. the spot is mostly shady all day during the summer so thinking I need some shade plants. here is what I sort of thinking about but not real sure, a couple of hosta's, maybe 3 foxglove, maybe 2 or 3 coleus, and maybe 4 or 5 impatien's. I have drawn up a plan and I think these plants would be ok in shade, and I was thinking some green (hosta) with some color with the other plants would look nice. any suggestions? am I on the right track? thanks for any input.
Errol ;)

Hi,Errol. I'm Curbie. If you do this, plant different types of hosta and they REALLY get big over the years.We divide ours with a huge knife and they are not easy to dig up.Some smell really good and some have varigated leaves. I'd leave a perimeter and use pansies (which re-seed each year). Think about which plants you're using are permanent and which you replace each year. I love coleus for color. Our yard is mostly shade. Nice to have you. Curbie :)

Hey Errol, long time no see!
I wouldn't use foxgloves since they require a fair amount of sun!
Have a look at Monkshood. They look similar, grow several feet tall, bloom from mid summer, mostly come in blue/purple. Need a fair amount of shade, mostly come in blue/purple. They're clump formers, and develop corms that you can dig up in the fall and move around.