Planting in Tires

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

I have been messing with ways to use tires in the garden for the past three years. I'm lucky in that I have more equipment than a lot of folks do to make the work go easier. That ties in nicely with my being too lazy to work hard if a machine can do it for me. Hopefully somebody else ca find a use for some of my wild hair ideas.

I am gradually getting all my cucurbits planted in "tire rings." I make them by cutting both sidewalls off the tire, leaving an almost flat ring of the tread. It is pretty easy to make the cuts if you keep the rubber wet with soapy water and keep a sharp blade in your utility knife. Don'y throw the sidewalls away, they work great for ballasting tarps or ground covers

I lay out the pattern I want the hills in, then push the topsoil off 3-4" deep with the loader on my toy tractor (that's the lazy part showing up, non-tractored gardeners get their exercise by digging them in by hand). A ring is dropped at each location and the dirt is replaced around it. Excess material will be used later inside the ring.

Dig out inside each ring, stay away from the ring so it doesn't fall into the hole. Most of the dirt will probably not be real good growing soil and can either be removed to somewhere else or scattered between the rings. Dig out as much dirt as you have compost/ambition to replace (tractor mounted posthole digger makes up for a lot of ambition!) Keep it below ground level, then use some of the topsoil from outside to fill the ring just about level with the ground outside.