Bat houses

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

Markymark

Found this interesting article here. I was thinking of building a bat house and so I've been considering a way to collect the guano. Does anyone have an opinion on it? I was thinking next season I'll be doing my own composting and I figured composting the guano in with it would be a great idea. Since I've read so many good things about it I was thinking why not? Such an inexpensive project for such a great return if I can capture it. I was almost thinking just building a rectangular box a few feet below it would do the job. But I have no experience with this besides looking at a few bat house designs.

Any opinions?

One of the best sites for bat info and house designs is Univ. of Florida http://www.wec.ufl.edu/extension/wildlife_info/wildlife_uf/bathouse.php
They have an extensive research program dedicated to bats and even very cool viewing stations as well as tours and events. I bet you will find some great info.
We had a bat house about 40' in a tree. The bats loved it and it finally met with disaster due to the weather. Sadly we can't climb trees anymore to replace it. However, we managed to establish a colony, they fly over head every night in huge flocks. Occasionally we find them dead on the deck where they flew into the windows. They are such amazing creatures. I have never collected guano though. I have seen large piles of it at the bat house at U of F though. Also in the 70's there was a bat house on Sugarloaf Key, it was a huge tourist attraction. Not sure if it is still there or not but you might goggle that too.