Grape Pruning questions assistance (pictures)

GardenForums.com a friendly and growing community of gardeners. We feature a Garden Discussion Forum and Garden Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other gardeners, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more! Whether you're a master gardener, or brand new to the hobby, you'll find something of interest here.

Markymark

So I pruned my grape tree to go up my Pergola and I'm going to admit first hand that I AM NO EXPERT on pruning anything. I'm also aware that single stem pruning for a grape tree will give it the feel of a trunk, well after further investigation of my grape tree it has 3 trunks coming out of the root area, and it makes me nervous to even begin to consider cutting it back to one now (when I add my additional 3 grape trees I will make sure it's a single stem/trunk setup).

Here is a few pictures of my work. I also noticed after checking a few of the end pieces of the vine that they was dry, but then some other cuts was nice and green. Should I prune back those brown spots to green?
15i6xq8.jpg

987i4g.jpg

21mcfo9.jpg

Here's what it looked like before I started pruning.
scx2s0.jpg

Last edited:
I think it looks very good. For waht you are doing I am not so sure the three stems are not a good idea. You have enough area to cover and the extra stems will provide a more dense (shady) cover for you. For production, the solar exposure is important, but I think you still have enough space that you can have that.